The 2020 General Election will bring only slight changes to the Oregon legislature.

Although there are still a lot of outstanding votes in swing districts, it appears that the Oregon Senate will stand pat at 18 Democrats and 12 Republicans. 

  • Republican incumbent Denyc Boles (R-Salem) is locked into a very close race with Democrat challenger Deb Patterson for Oregon Senate District 10. 
  • Local incumbents Brian Clem (D-Salem), Raquel Moore-Green (R-Salem), Theresa Alonso Leon (D-Woodburn, Gervais, N Salem), Paul Evans (D-Monmouth, Independence, W Salem), Bill Post (R-Keizer) all appear to have safely defended their seats in the House of Representatives.
  • Republican incumbent Tim Knopp (R-Bend) appears to have survived a vigorous challenge from Eileen Kieley by 1,600 votes.
  • An open seat currently being vacated by Senator Arnie Roblan (D-Coos Bay) appears to have been won by Republican Dick Anderson by 2,000 votes over Democrat Melissa Cribbins.

In the Oregon House, the races are more solidified. Republicans will gain 1 seat, but Democrats will retain a commanding 37-23 majority. We believe it is unlikely there will be any changes from this point forward. 

  • Democrat Jason Kropf handily defeated Republican incumbent Cheri Helt by nearly 20 points in a rapidly changing Bend house district.
  • Republicans captured two coastal house districts previously held by Democrats. Boomer Wright (R-Coos Bay) defeated Cal Mukumoto by 5,500 votes. Suzanne Weber (R-Tillamook) defeated Debbie Boothe-Schmidt by 3,000 votes. Republican successes in coastal districts signifies major cultural shifting in the state as reliably Republican suburbs have swung wildly to Democrats, while once reliably Democrat coastal districts have completed their evolution to Republican districts.

Have thoughts or comments?  Please contact Tom Hoffert, Salem Chamber CEO, at

Privacy PolicyTerms Of ServiceCookie Policy